Home » Clinical Orientation » Clinical Orientation

Clinical Orientation

As I complete my second week of clinical orientation I have been able to apply the didactic instruction and modeling from week one to my first few patient work-ups. These lessons included comprehensive information gathering to create a patient database, patient interviewing skills and physical assessment. The logical head to toe manner gave me a template and facilitated the beginning of creating my own process of patient information gathering and assessment.

The need to quickly and systematically collect data was reinforced given the large volume of patients and their daily change in acuity. Now that I have been through this process, my goal for the next two weeks of clinical orientation is to continue to develop my skills and to complete patient work-ups in 2 hrs. This will help prepare me before my mock oral exam at the end of clinical orientation and for my internal medicine rotation.

Leave a Reply

