Home » Clinical Orientation » Feeling…Orientated!

Feeling…Orientated!

Reflecting back on a fabulous 4 weeks of clinical orientation, I hardly believe how far I have come! During this rotation I have begun to develop many foundational skills allowing me to build a ‘patient database’. These include navigating through charts, systematically collecting lab data and relevant information from resources I previously did not realize were available. I had the opportunity to conduct patient interviews, to practice a review of systems (ROS) and write targeted SOAP notes. I have to admit that filtering all of the available information and completing a patient work-up in a 2-hour time frame remains a challenge for me but I am optimistic that this will improve over the course of my residency year.

Clinical orientation allowed me to identify targeted areas for improvement. I am hopeful that practice during my upcoming ambulatory rotation will sharpen my DTP identification skills and improve my ability to rationalize specific recommendations.

Leave a Reply

