Home » Internal Med CTU » Moving Forward to ID! Learning Plan, the Next Generation.

Moving Forward to ID! Learning Plan, the Next Generation.

The Internal Medicine rotation allowed me several opportunities to formally and thoroughly present patients to my preceptor in a head-to-toe format. Improving my DTP identification and presentation skills were identified as goals for this rotation and these exercises were a fundamental portion in striving towards this. These were important practice opportunities and my goal moving forward in my upcoming ID and Antimicrobial Stewardship rotation will be to concisely and consistently present patients to my preceptor including DTPs and alternatives (within 20mins).

With the process of patient assessment and work-up coming into place, I would like to focus on maintaining a greater number of patients in my care. My goal will be 4 new patients in the first week (keeping in mind the short week with my BC Case-Wide Presentation on the Friday) and 7-10 new patients in week 2. During my second acute care rotation, I would like to maintain at least 15 patients at any given time. My goal for this rotation is to speed up my time to patient work up while continuing to follow my current patient assessment form. I would like to shorten this form where possible and my goal is to decrease my current patient work-up form by one half by the end of my up coming ID and Antimicrobial Stewardship rotation. I would love your suggestions regarding these goals or tips on how you set and achieved your own residency goals…seriously, the floor is open.

I have made some progress in my patient work-up skills and I would like to focus on maintaining the quality of the process while decreasing the time it takes. One thing I learned about myself in the past month is my own need to maintain focus and mental discipline when so many potential questions exist. Someone once said, “If I had an hour to solve a problem and my life depended on it, I would spend the first 55 minutes determining the proper questions to ask.” I think that may be a simple but key statement when faced with seemingly endless information. Focus on the right questions to solve the challenge at hand. This is true in information gathering, patient interviewing and DTP identification and alternatives…Lucky for me a duo called Hepler and Strand may have been thinking the same thing!

Leave a Reply

