Home » Cardiology » “So, I trust the doctor and the pharmacist but do I really need to take rat poison for my heart?”

“So, I trust the doctor and the pharmacist but do I really need to take rat poison for my heart?”

I am happy to report that today was my first day teaching at the warfarin information session in my Cardiology rotation (Tuesdays and Thursdays at 10:00 if you are interested). At this session, one woman diagnosed with atrial fibrillation and her daughter, were my two audience members. This actually turned out quite well as I could tailor the presentation to her specifically. They both had many questions, which I could easily answer. The part that surprised me most was how much I had actually learned from them. They had intelligent, legitimate questions about this new medication and I had answers that they could understand. I have never doubted the key role of a pharmacist in providing medication related education but it reminded me that concepts considered common knowledge in the health care profession and in a busy hospital can often be a black box to patients. So my key reminder here today was to educate, educate, educate. If necessary, educate until the patient cannot even stand the thought of Googling it anymore (Disclaimer: I do not dislike Google at all but accessing accurate information is a rant discussion for a different time and place). As an added bonus, becoming an effective pharmacy educator is one of my residency learning objectives and this was a great opportunity to exercise this. Overall, it was a good experience and I am once again sincerely grateful to the patients for helping me become a better clinician.

Leave a Reply

