Home » Uncategorized » Precepting Skills Learning Objectives: Take One

Precepting Skills Learning Objectives: Take One

 

The big day has almost arrived and my precepting skills rotation is next on the agenda! Soon I will have the opportunity to act as a preceptor for a 4th year UBC pharmacy student during the first two weeks of the student’s hospital experiential education rotation. Not alone of course, I will have a seasoned preceptor’s support along the way.

So I am heading back to VGH where I started out my clinical orientation to residency in October 2015. Time really does fly. The rotation will take place on the surgical unit 5A/B. Both the student and myself will be orientating to the ward but I am optimistic that we will get into a good routine within the first few days. I expect that this will be a challenging and rewarding rotation as I learn to assess and assume the appropriate educator role: direct instruction, modeling, coaching and facilitation. While precepting I will also be following my own patients and attending to the needs of the ward and it will be a fabulous opportunity to focus in on my time management skills.

I have outlined my rotation goals and objectives below:

Goal 1: Develop and integrate the knowledge required to effectively provide practice-based teaching to a junior learner during the hospital experiential education rotation.

Objectives:

1) To define and demonstrate the effective and appropriate use of direct instruction, modeling, coaching and facilitation in the practice-based teaching setting with a junior learner.

2) To consistently provide daily verbal and constructive feedback to the junior learner while maintaining a safe learning environment.

3) To demonstrate the ability to provide written constructive feed back to the junior learner.

Goal 2: Effectively provide direct patient care to assigned patients and patients likely to benefit from a pharmaceutical intervention while acting as a preceptor for a junior learner.

Objectives:

1) To support the junior learner to increase both independence and collaboration with the healthcare team.

2) To provide patient care for 5-10 patients during the precepting skills rotation.

3) To manage daily clinical pharmacy responsibilities including the management of problem drug orders, drug order clarifications and therapeutic drug monitoring during the precepting skills rotation.

4) To effectively manage my time to meets these concurrent obligations.

Leave a Reply

