Home » Internal Med CTU » The end of a journey marks the beginning of a new adventure!

The end of a journey marks the beginning of a new adventure!

 

The clinical teaching unit (CTU) really is an ideal learning environment for medical residents, students and in this case a pharmacy resident! CTU was fast paced learning environment. With the help of my preceptors I was able to adapt and transition into a more independent practice as expected during my final rotation in the practice residency. During this rotation it felt like each of my experiences in the residency had led up to this and each day I felt more prepared to contribute and to help optimize patient care. Although the learning will continue throughout my career this experience in CTU helped to build my confidence in independent practice. I learned when to reach out to colleagues (and in this case my preceptor) and when I felt I had enough information and knowledge to make a recommendation to the team. The volume and turn over challenged me to refine my process and each day was an opportunity to improve. I feel that this rotation enhanced my ability to contribute meaningfully to direct patient care as part of an interdisciplinary team.

This is the final chapter of this journey, thank you for accompanying me along the way. I do not yet know what the future has in store. I do know one thing for sure: I am ready.

Leave a Reply

